Disappointment and Decisions

We got our results for last semester yesterday. I failed anatomy. I’m so, so annoyed and disappointed with myself for failing that unit. I wanted so much to be able to get through this course smoothly and get my degree as soon as possible and now I have to change everything, and redo that unit which means that I now need to work out what I want to do with uni this semester. I’ve been thinking about my options but the problem is, until I know what the pre-requisites are for this semesters courses, I can’t make a decision. I’ve emailed all my teachers but they probably wont get back to me until Monday. So for now, I’m thinking through what my options are and what I really want this year.

If anatomy was a pre-requisite for any of this semesters courses, it means I have to defer that course until I’ve passed anatomy. Which means I’ll have to change my enrolment status to part time and only doing 2 or 3 units this semester instead of 4, adding an extra 12 months to my course. But, if this is the case I’m thinking I’m more inclined to defer uni all together for the rest of this year, working for 6 months, saving and when my lease runs out changing to a better uni in Sydney, which is what I’ve wanted to do for a while.

If anatomy wasn’t a pre-requisite for any of this semesters courses, I can continue full time this semester and change my unit choices for next year and redo anatomy next year. (I’m really peeved that they only run it in first semester each year!)

And then, I’m also thinking that even if the anatomy course isn’t a pre-requisite for anything, I could still defer uni for 6 months, spend a bit of time working and saving money and still change uni’s next year. It means adding an extra few months to my course, but if it means I’m going to benefit more from a better uni, isn’t it worth it? I’m already going to have to tack on a few months to redo anatomy, a few more wont hurt. I want to get the most out of this course, and I want to go to a uni that offers more support and makes confident nurses out of their students. Also, if I change uni’s my clinical placement options would be much, much better than what is offered here, which means I’ll get more experience throughout my course.

It’s a big decision to make, hindered by the fact that I’m on scholarship. I’m not sure if deferring uni means I’ll lose it all together or if I can defer my scholarship as well? I know that if I change to part time, I’m going to lose half of my scholarship anyway. I really don’t know what I want to do or what I should do. At this stage, I’m really leaning towards deferring, no matter what happens, and moving next year. I know that there will be bigger and better opportunities for me if I do this, but it’s just such a huge decision to make. Can’t someone else make it for me?

So while I wait for my teachers to get back to me, I’m going to spend the weekend with my head buried in a book and try to ignore reality for a little while.

xx

5 thoughts on “Disappointment and Decisions

  1. I’m so sorry youre in this position love- but how many did you pass? Are you focussing on those as much?

    • I passed the other three, and even got a credit in one, but considering I worked hardest on anatomy and still failed, rather epically too, kinda makes the pass’s less enjoyable.

      • don’t let it be less enjoyable love; especially biology – i know how hard you struggled in that
        I know some great teaching websites if you want them for when you resit. did the teachers give you an option of redoing an exam or making up the credit marks?

  2. Anatomy is hard… I know how difficult it is to have failed a unit. I was in that position myself and failed Human Bio twice when I was studying Pharmacy. It sucks having to repeat I know but you can get through this degree- lots of people have failed units. x

  3. Aww, those websites would be awesome if you could send them to me!! Thankyou!!
    There was no option of resitting an exam, but I have just asked. I’m hoping there’s some kind of special consideration that I can be granted, and seeing as I only failed by like 4%, I’m really hoping there is!

Leave a comment